This Saturday, April 18th, “Climate Day for Kids” at SAM

learning to crochet at Phinney/Greenwood street party

learning to crochet at Phinney/Greenwood street party

I’m really thrilled to be bringing this project to “Climate Day for Kids” at  SAM’s Olympic Sculpture Park, this Sat.April 18th from 12-3.  It’s an event for kids, of course, and it seems like I have been teaching kids to crochet a lot lately with this project.  They really force me to be up on my game with teaching; if I’m confusing they let me know it right away.  So, in a very short time I have refined how I teach several of the steps to chain, single and double crochet, and I’m seeing people (big and small) learn to crochet a lot faster. And watching small hands work always reminds me that most of the ways I make my artwork today were not learned in art school, but from other children on the playground. (I have a vivid memory of the magic of leaning to do handweaving during recess)   Anyhow, I’m excited to share my work next to worm bins, eco-gamers, Tesla coils, and puppets shows in the gorgeous PACCAR pavilion.  Please come join me, kids or not.  If you know how to crochet, teach a child!climateday_2_ev

Leave a Reply

