Thank you SAM for a great “Climate Day for Kids” at the Sculpture Park!

Last weekend I had the pleasure of participating in SAM’s “Climate Day for Kids” in celebration on Earth Day.  Jackie White, Environmental Steward at SAM, and her crew put together an incredible event for kids and families at the Olympic Sculpture Park.

an invigorating studio for a day

an invigorating studio for a day

 I brought my own family, and now seem to hear daily from my son how to “reduce my carbon footprint”, the catch phrase of the day.  

recycled art sponsored by SAM's Teen Advisory Group

recycled art sponsored by SAM's Teen Advisory Group

Worm bins, scavenger hunts, Tesla coils, recycled art projects, eco-gaming, walking school buses, and free organic trail mix all made for a big crowd and many, many engaged crocheters. Several of the people I worked with were just in the park that day, and were just drawn to all the crazy fun ( the hair-raising Tesla coil!) It also continues to be my great pleasure to teach really young children to crochet, as well as work with families making together!  

learning how to add on to other's patches

learning how to add on to other's patches

 

brought her own glittery crochet hook

brought her own glittery crochet hook

There were moments were I was teaching the basics over and over breathlessly, which feels good and grounded for this project where I am trying to connect with and connect together as many people as I can.  The little repeating loop stitches are visual reminders of a few minutes of conversation or a few minutes of quiet with oneself.

Thanks, my friend, for your patience and appreciation

Thanks, my friend, for your patience and appreciation

 I’ll also be heading back to SAM for their “Celebrate Wildflowers” Day on June 6th.  I  continue to fall more in love with the park every time I go, and plan to go back with my picnic blanket for more crocheting on my own, and with whoever would like to stop for a few minutes.  

See more images here.

 

for a few moments

for a few moments

my first volunteer

my first volunteer

 

mom and daughter hung out for the whole day

mom and daughter hung out for the whole day

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

dsc_0012dsc_0016dsc_0022

circle of hands working

circle of hands working

 

TAG volunteer helps out for a bit

TAG volunteer helps out for a bit

dsc_0019

Leave a Reply

